Outie 5000

And, I’m home.  Most of my time in hospital was spent being poked and prodded by the staff (who are all fantastic), visiting with family and friends, and flipping between HGTV and History Channel.  Hardly had time to get bored.  It is certainly true that you don’t get a lot of sleep in a hospital, as they were at me every 2-3 hours for this or that.  I was hooked up to IV anti-biotics and saline for the first 24 hours or so, then just 1/2 hour of anti-biotics every 8 hrs after that.  I mostly felt pretty normal, actually, quite a bit better than Thursday night when I had the fever that sent me in.  Had a bit of what I feared was a setback last night, when the fever and chills came back, and was convinced my release would be pushed out a day or more.  But this morning the docs said that this fever was probably all my formerly-suppressed white cells waking up and going into action.  I never would have guessed that at the time!

 

So for now, I have to watch my temperature, rest up, and get ready for round two on Wednesday.  Sounds like they’re gonna give me something to encourage white cell production for this next round.  Fine by me – I don’t want to land in a hospital bed again!  So many factors to track, I can’t keep it all in my head.  Luckily, they’re good at boiling down instructions for me to fit into my tiny brain, and I plan to follow them.  For now, I’m just glad to be home!

 

More soon…

5 thoughts on “Outie 5000

Leave a Reply

